Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Zig Ziglar planningIt’s a new week with lots to get done, but sometimes you can feel overwhelmed even before you start.  In life, we often be distracted by “Tyranny of the Urgent” type issues that pop up and leave behind the IMPORTANT ones. This increases the size of your “To Do” list and keeps you from accomplishing the things that will truly help you reach your goals on time. As Zig Ziglar once said, “It’s not about a lack of time but a lack of direction.”

Clear goals are essential for success. If you don’t know where you are going, you don’t know what steps to take to get there. “Often we see companies doing SOMETHING for the sake of doing something and not really knowing where they are going or where they want to be. They feel that if they do enough of SOMETHING then they are sure to get somewhere.” I prefer a more focused effort.

If you don’t have a system to keep you on track, let me suggest you start a “TOP 5″ sheet.  It has worked for me and my teams over the last two years and I know it will work for you. It is not hard to do once you learn the system and it will help you balance your life in ways you never imagined.

Using a TOP 5 Sheet Can Help

Here is an example of the work section of my Top 5 sheet as an example.  The real value is not just filling out the sheet, but how it fills out your calendar each week.  I have goals that I want to achieve for both personal and business.  These goals are written down so I keep on target and have deadlines where applicable.  I also review them with my partner so we hold each other accountable.

I use the TOP 5 sheet to make sure I work on the things that will get me to my goals on time.  I take the hours estimated to accomplish these task and block them out on my calendar so I am sure to have time in my week for them.  Let your goals determine your calendar and not the other way around, so you’ll never have to say “I just didn’t have time to get it done this week.”

(I learned how to use a TOP 5 sheet during my time as VP of Marketing and Business Development for US Leadership Inc. of Irving, TX.)

If you prefer to see things on video, I created a video showing how I use the TOP 5 sheet and you can watch on YouTube by clicking on the photo here. I must admit it is not the most exciting video I ever made but it will show you how the Top 5 system works, and you get to hear my soothing voice. Maybe watch it before bed time over a nice glass of wine.

by Robert Hunt

To Keep up with my current focus on leading CEO Peer Groups, follow me at www.REFdallas.com

 

Other Great Links and Information

Marketing – Where do you Want to GO?

Create Partnerships to help you Reach your Goals

When it comes to Reaching your Goals in 2013 – Burn the Ships

What Every CEO should Expect from their CMO

